Evens – Get Evens

This record sees Ian MacKaye let his funky side go for a run, and it’s absolutely great. Some die-hard Fugazi and Minor Threat fans will probably say that this record is weak, not heavy or fast enough, or that fatherhood has made the man lose his edge. They’d be dead wrong.


Here we have a fantastic collection jazzy, rippling tales of woe and angst, hope and observation, offered up by the hyper-talented duo of MacKaye and Amy Farina. It’s groovy and it’s thoughtful, with tons to say and with drums that’ll get into your blood and make you move despite yourself. 


I loved this record. It’s perfectly realized and anyone who scoffs at how their hero has grown should please suffer their own arrested development silently, for the sake of the rest of us.


Highly and completely recommended.


Track Listing:

01 Cut From The Cloth

02 Everybody Knows

03 Cache Is Empty

04 You Fell Down

05 Pushed Against The Wall

06 No Money

07 All You Find You Keep

08 Eventually

09 Get Even

10 Dinner With The President

Put yer words here:

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.