Slipknot – All Hope Is Gone

Every Slipknot record is an uncompromising exercise in brutal chaos and energy, especially their first two. Beginning with their third, and now carried on here with their fourth new collection, the band branches out into more thoughtful directions while still maintaining their dedication, integrity and work ethic.

The level of their musicianship continues to rise, with complicated riffs that pay homage to the best of speed metal, and with chugging heavy sections and pounding double kick-bass that I just know would sound amazing in concert. The Maggots will be thrilled that a beast as great as this has emerged after four long years of waiting for new word from their heroes.

If ever there was a Slipknot record that contained tracks that rock radio might consider playing, this would be it. You can take that as a good or a bad omen, depending on what suits your personal opinion of this band. For my money, Gematria, Sulfur, Wherein Lies Continue and the title track rock the hardest,although next listen I’ll maybe choose different tracks again until eventually I’ll say the whole thing rocks. It happens every time.

This version also has three bonus tracks and an odd, kind of boring and yet strangely compelling making-of DVD.

You should go for it. And turn it the hell up.

Track Listing:
01 execute
02 Gematria (The Killing Name)
03 Sulfur
04 Psychosocial
05 Dead Memories
06 Vendetta
07 Butcher’s Hook
08 Gehenna
09 This Cold Black
10 Wherein Lies Continue
11 Snuff
12 All Hope Is Gone

Bonus Tracks:
13 Child Of Burning Time
14 Vermillion Pt.2 (Bloodstone Mix)
15 ‘Til We Die

nine: The Making Of All Hope Is Gone

Put yer words here:

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.