Heavy T.O.

There’s a kick-ass heavy metal concert coming to Toronto this summer. Check it out: http://lineup.heavyto.com/

There are several bands on that roster that I certainly wouldn’t mind seeing. I’ve even had a tentative invite to go, as a friend also wants to attend. However.

Here are the six good reasons I will not be attending:

1 – That particular weekend is exactly one week before the due date of our second child. If you think I’m going to be anywhere other than right here, you’re nuts.

2 – That is also my birthday weekend. And I would much rather spend my birthday with family than Dave Mustaine. Sorry, Dave.

3 – With my part-time hours pay cheque, the cost is prohibitive. True, the number of bands appearing makes the tickets reasonable, but then you have hotel, meals, drinks, anything else we’d want to do in the city… it’s just not do-able for me right now.

4 – I love me some metal. But this is A LOT of metal, and in a very short time span. I’m certain that I would burn out on it pretty quickly, well before the show was over.

5 – I am an old fart, now, and so I don’t handle large crowds well (not that I ever did, but it’s worse these days). Getting jostled by a bunch of black-clad, beer/sweat/weed-smelling, adrenaline-fuelled metal maniacs for two solid days really doesn’t sound like much fun, to me.

6 – I would not walk across the street to spit on Billy Talent.

Put yer words here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.