Rolling Stones – Singles Collection: The London Years

It’s a Sunday 3-CD blow-out!! After today, I’ll probably give you a bit of a break from all of this Stones run I’ve been on. Best if I play a few other things too, but never fear. I’ll be back with more Stones at some point, as I still have a ton more here to cover!

Now, the Singles Collection boxed set…

This 1989 set is so great. Honestly. 58 tracks on 3 CDs… all the singles from 1963-1971, from Chuck Berry’s Come On through to Wild Horses and Brown Sugar. Most are still in their mono mixes, and it covers all the UK and US singles (their decade with Decca and London Records).

Wiki points out some omissions:

The only omissions are four B-sides from 1970 and 1971. “Bitch” and “Let It Rock” (released in the UK on the “Brown Sugar” single) and “Sway” (B-side to “Wild Horses”). Allen Klein did not have release rights to this material when this compilation was released. Also not included was “Natural Magic”, a Ry Cooder instrumental, released as the B-side to the 1970 Mick Jagger single “Memo from Turner”. These are available on the box set Singles 1968–1971 except “Let It Rock” which is available on the box set Singles 1971–2006 and the Rarities 1971–2003 album.

Folks, if ever you needed a master class in brilliance, this set would be a great place to start. Just have a look at the track listing (below), to fully behold the majesty. Here you have every reason why these guys became one of the biggest bands in the world.

I own the big, original, LP-sized 3CD version of this. I know it’s been re-released  as a digipak, for those who have limited storage space.

And how many times have I played this, in my life? “Oh… a few*…”

Seriously folks, if you can get your hands on a copy of this (which should be easy to do), do not hesitate. It’s an absolute gold mine of early Stones tracks. What a band!

* Where “a few” means (at least) a zillion.

Let your eyes fall upon all of the majesty:

Track listing:

Disc 1
1 Come On (Chuck Berry)
2 I Want To Be Loved (Willie Dixon)
3 I Wanna Be Your Man (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)
4 Stoned (Nanker Phelge)
5 Not Fade Away (Charles Hardin/Norman Petty)
6 Little by Little (Nanker Phelge/Phil Spector)
7 It’s All Over Now (Bobby Womack/Shirley Jean Womack)
8 Good Times, Bad Times
9 Tell Me
10 I Just Want To Make Love to You (Willie Dixon)
11 Time Is On My Side (Norman Meade)
12 Congratulations
13 Little Red Rooster (Willie Dixon)
14 Off the Hook
15 Heart Of Stone
16 What A Shame
17 The Last Time
18 Play With Fire (Nanker Phelge)
19 (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction
20 The Under Assistant West Coast Promotion Man (Nanker Phelge)
21 The Spider And The Fly
22 Get Off Of My Cloud
23 I’m Free
24 The Singer Not The Song
25 As Tears Go By (Mick Jagger/Keith Richards/Andrew Loog Oldham)

Disc 2
1 Gotta Get Away
2 19th Nervous Breakdown
3 Sad Day
4 Paint It, Black
5 Stupid Girl
6 Long Long While
7 Mother’s Little Helper
8 Lady Jane
9 Have You Seen Your Mother, Baby, Standing In The Shadow?
10 Who’s Driving Your Plane?
11 Let’s Spend the Night Together
12 Ruby Tuesday
13 We Love You
14 Dandelion
15 She’s A Rainbow
16 2000 Light Years from Home
17 In Another Land (Bill Wyman)
18 The Lantern
19 Jumpin’ Jack Flash
20 Child Of The Moon

Disc 3
1 Street Fighting Man
2 No Expectations
3 Surprise, Surprise
4 Honky Tonk Women
5 You Can’t Always Get What You Want
6 Memo From Turner (Released as a Mick Jagger solo single in November 1970)
7 Brown Sugar
8 Wild Horses
9 I Don’t Know Why (Stevie Wonder/Paul Riser/Don Hunter/Lula Hardaway)
10 Try A Little Harder
11 Out Of Time
12 Jiving Sister Fanny
13 Sympathy For The Devil

14 thoughts on “Rolling Stones – Singles Collection: The London Years

  1. Vinyl Connection says:

    Dare I say it? All you need of the Stones up to Let it Bleed. Wonderful comp.

    PS. Wonder how many version there are. Your 12″ format 3 CD box looks just fabulous. I have one of those double jewel-case jobbies with 3 CD inside. One always comes loose, doesn’t it?


    1. keepsmealive says:

      Oh you can say it, but I’ll have to respectfully disgree that this is all you need… I like too much of the rest of it to agree!

      But it is indeed a fantastic compilation. Incredible, really, listening to this, and realizing just how many classic tunes they did.

      I don’t know how many versions there are. I’ve seen the CD case-sized versions too, and they’re just as good! One thing I like about this LP-sized version, though, is that the included booklet is also that size!

      And yes, one always does come loose. So frustrating!


      Liked by 1 person

  2. mikeladano says:

    This one comes highly recommended from LeBrain as well. Brilliant set, certainly the corner-Stone of a great collection. Rarities and hits. Blues and rock. As for the four missing tracks I’m sure that they are on something else, perhaps something you reviewed already like Grr!


    1. keepsmealive says:

      I love wordplay, so full marks for ‘corner-Stone’!

      Of the four missing tracks, I have three. Bitch and Sway are, of course, on Sticky Fingers. Let It Rock was on the Rarities 1971-2003 disc I covered recently. The only one I don’t have (yet) is Natural Magic.


        1. keepsmealive says:

          I know. There’s also probably a whole shit-ton of other stuff in the cans that hasn’t seen the light of day yet. I imagine we’ll be buying ‘new’ and ‘previously unreleased’ Stones stuff until we go to our graves. That is, of course, if they play their cards right!

          As for Natural Magic, I’m sure it’ll turn up at some point.

          NB: Let It Rock, interestingly, also appears on the From The Vault: Live At The Marquee Club 1971 set. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. mikeladano says:

            Yeah and that stuff will surface…if it hasn’t already on some obscure CD somewhere in some region. And of course failing that, there’s always the Discogs for original singles.


  3. stephen1001 says:

    I had to look up ‘zillion’ to see if google gave a specific quantity – “an extremely large number…” – sounds about the right amount of times to listen to this!


Put yer words here:

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.