Whitey Houston – Whitey Houston

*I Wanna Taranna Pt. 42: She Said Boom! #9, $1 Deal #7: Whitey Houston – Whitey Houston

’Twas James who introduced me to Whitey Houston, though I don’t think I have ever owned the CD proper until now. I should have. This thing fuckin’ smokes!

I love garage rock, the louder, messier and the more unapologetic the better. This Edmonton duo’s album has it all in spades. It’s absolutely relentless and, for a two piece (Lyle Bell on bass, Gravy on drums) they make one helluva huge noise. It’s song after song after song of bashing you in the skull with huge fuzzed out bass and pounding drums. It’s like White Stripes did speed, went punk and only ever listened to the Hives, Motörhead and Nashville Pussy. I LOVED IT! 

The song you’d know is I Got Fucked By Liberty Mutual. It’s a harrowing, cautionary tale. Righteous that they put it into song! But there are a ton of other great ones here, too. I could name one or two, but then I’d have to name them all. Just get this and crank it. Go go GO!  

It also amuses me to no end that the Whitey Houston album listed on Amazon.ca carries all of the comments for Whitney Houston’s debut album with it. That’s two pretty disparate albums, I’d say… The band must love it.

***

*Announcement: This brings an end to this current I Wanna Taranna series. If you’ve read any of these posts, I thank you heartily! This Taranna trip was highly successful, I feel. I got great deals, great music, and I can’t wait to go back! In fact, I’ll be there in a couple of weeks, for the \m/  SLAYER!!!!  \m/ show, with dedicated record shopping time the following day (if we can see straight, that is). Thanks for Reading this series! Give ‘er!

   

37 thoughts on “Whitey Houston – Whitey Houston

  1. cincinnatibabyhead says:

    You are giving me a big list of new sounds for me to try out. I feel if I don’t i will miss something. Your batting average is that good. I really trust you. This will be the first Whitney album I will have ever listened to. I never really got into her.

    Like

    1. keepsmealive says:

      Thanks for the trust! But before you go getting into WHITNEY Houston, remember that this is WHITEY Houston (no ‘N’ in the first name) and they’re a noise-rock duo from Edmonton. 🙂 Check out the link in the post above for a sample of their sound.

      Granted, the first WHITNEY Houston album is also a classic of 80s pop and I can recommend it too.

      Or wait, are you just messing with me? Did you know this was WHITEY not WHITNEY and you were just seeing if I was paying attention? ‘Cos it’s not even 8 a.m. as I type this and it’s possible I missed something…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. cincinnatibabyhead says:

        I’ve had my first belly laugh of the day. “Churgchurgchurg” that’s typed laghter (learned from mikeldano)
        I listened to the Whitey, yeah I like that sound.. I have never listened to Whitney (On purpose) but like our Canuck brother Neil would say “It’s not my style man”. Thanks for clearing up the WHITEY/WHITNEY thing.

        Like

  2. Zack says:

    I had this bookmarked to remind me to check out this band, but every time I type the name in I get Whitney Houston. They should go with a less confusable name like Allison Chains or Marillion Manson.

    Like

                    1. keepsmealive says:

                      True, but Aretha is Queen of them all!

                      Stabby is that guy from Queensryche who tried to stab his bandmate. Everyone else has moved on from that, but I still think of him by that name.

                      Like

                    2. keepsmealive says:

                      Yeah that’s the guy! I know they made some great albums, I even have a couple of them here. Not one I got into at the time, but some day I’ll play what’s here! Man, I’m just happy to finally be through all my Taranna finds!

                      Like

      1. keepsmealive says:

        Man I wish I had set this up as a gotcha, but I hadn’t! I suppose another tip-off could have been the cover art, but it’s the song that’d clear things up for good, eh? They definitely sound nothing like Whitney!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. 2loud2oldmusic says:

          In started reading it an thinking…”where is he going with this”…and when I saw the song title I realized something wasn’t right. The description made so much more sense when I realized what the title said. Yes. The cover should have been a clue but it has been a rough week and I am tired.

          Like

    1. keepsmealive says:

      Even Amazon thinks this is Whitney! Haha if I was gonna own any Whitney it’d be the first record only, for nostalgia’s sake. In fact, I think I might have an LP of it here somewhere. No matter, this is most definitely NOT Whitney!

      Like

Put yer words here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.