Kula Shaker – Kollected: The Best Of Kula Shaker

A sweet Taranna find…

I do enjoy Kula Shaker’s albums, but this disc has all the tracks you wanna hear the most all in one place. Pretty damn hard to argue with that!

You know, I shouldn’t like these guys, really. I don’t dig on the Britwave too much, and there are many times they edge towards Oasis territory in their sound. But for whatever reason, I can tolerate this stuff quite well, while I just can’t stomach Oasis. Ah well, chaçun à son goût!

I loved the sounds here. It’s bluesy, worldly, retro-60s, and just spaced out funky enough to be a party in every track. On top of the band’s own album work and b-sides, you get covers too.

Hit It Or Quit It? Hit!


Check it out… (lazily copied from Wiki)…

  1. “Sound of Drums”
  2. “Into the Deep”
  3. “Grateful When You’re Dead/Jerry Was There”
  4. “108 Battles (of the Mind)”
  5. “Start All Over”
  6. “Hey Dude”
  7. “Drop in the Sea”
  8. “Shower Your Love”
  9. “Hush” (Joe South)
  10. “Tattva”
  11. “303”
  12. “Light of the Day”
  13. “Mystical Machine Gun”
  14. “Ballad of a Thin Man” (Bob Dylan)
  15. “Dance in Your Shadow”
  16. “Govinda” (includes untitled/unknown/not verified hidden track) Confirmation needed
  • There is a 1 minute and 50 seconds hidden/ghost song at the end of “Govinda”, about 13 minutes after it has finished. This is actually mentioned in the booklet that comes with the CD, the chorus is mentioned: “It seems there was no more room left on the album for ten minute long tracks with choruses like: ‘In the beginning was the word, and the word was … “Aum Keshavaya namah aum” …'” (Possibly misprinted, “om keshavaya namah” means “O my Lord Keshava, I offer my respectful obeisances unto You.”) The iTunes Music Store states that this clip is named “Strangefolk”, which was the original title of their second album before Kula Shaker changed it to Peasants, Pigs and Astronauts.

The clip from Kollected is part of the original ‘Strangefolk’ track, which was left off “Peasants, Pigs & Astronauts”, and was only made available on the 10th anniversary limited edition. Five years after the release of Kollected, Kula Shaker would go on to name their third album Strangefolk. Included on this album is a track titled “Strangefolk”. .

  • Cover of the Joe South classic “Hush” was previously only available on the soundtrack to the film I Know What You Did Last Summer.
  • The tracks “Drop in the Sea”, “Light of the Day” and “Dance In Your Shadow” were previously released as B-sides.
  • “Ballad of a Thin Man” was a track intended for a Bob Dylan tribute album which was never released. The song was finally released on the soundtrack to the film Stoned.

24 thoughts on “Kula Shaker – Kollected: The Best Of Kula Shaker

  1. jprobichaud says:

    Loved Kula Shaker back in the day, even saw them live for the Peasants, Pigs tour. But I think these best of compilations when the band only had two albums (at the time) a bit superfluous. Fun fact: the lead singer is Hayley Mills som.

    Liked by 2 people

            1. mikeladano says:

              Yes you are right — and Glover didn’t play on the 1968 Purple version either. But he played it live thousands of times and played on the 1988 studio version instead. So I think it could have a family connection.


        1. keepsmealive says:

          Nope, I didn’t watch SBTB back then, but I quickly scanned her filmography and man, I dunno from memory if I’ve seen anything she’s been in! I mean, probably, but not off the top of my head!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. jprobichaud says:

            She did a lot of Disney movies as a child actress. I saw a bunch of them on the wonderful world on CBC growing up. The original Parent Trap is one I always remember.


Put yer words here:

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.