Jon Spencer Blues Explosion – Jukebox Explosion

I don’t think I’ve ever confessed my love for the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion here in the pages of KMA thus far, so allow me to rectify that omission by doing so now: I love these guys! Yeah! 

They have such a great sound, and so much energy. Their melding of rock and the blues and their thudding screeching cacophony pleases me to no end. I own all of their records, and most of the singles. I even have most of the side-projects. Given their decidedly huge discography (what with the various side-projects as well), this has been no small undertaking, over the years.

So imagine, if you will, my glee upon finding a copy of their latest release in the rubble of the remaining stock at our dying Music World store at the mall. I rescued this gem as soon as my eyes fell upon it, sure that it was some mistake that so many others had left it sitting there in favour of shit like Beyoncé and Michel Bublé, but there it was anyway. I promised it a good, warm and loving home as I carried it carefully to the cash desk.

(NB If you think it’s more than a little odd that I talked to a CD in the middle of a record store, you don’t know my love of this band well enough yet and, fair enough since I just told you about it a few paragraphs ago. Stick with me).

 Jukebox Explosion is a total work of art. Collecting the tracks from their Jukebox singles series (originally only on 45 vinyl) from In The Red Records, these are all tracks that are seeing release on CD for the first time, here. Hallelujah!

And it’s all here, folks. The fuzzy punk rock blues, the stomping and howling, the banging and raving. I laughed at the raised-middle-finger of Caroline, which could be about a girl until you know that that was the name of their first label. Son Of Sam, their cover of the Chain Gang, sends chills down my spine every time. Do You Wanna Get It features Dr. John on the piano, Train #1 and Train #3 totally rock (Train #2 can be found on Extra Width, as you already are aware, I’m sure), and Dig My Shit was meant for a TV performance until it was canned due to language, so it ended up on the What’s Up Matador compilation (which I also own). The liner notes here, though, claim that set was “otherwise completely worthless.” The Blues Is Number One! Yeah! Damn! Haha.

Which ties in perfectly with the cover art (by Mort Todd) for this release. Jon Spencer has always been steadfast in his style, and none of it matches what was popular at the time these were recorded, beginning in 1992. So the cover shows a zombie-fied band shoveling records into an open grave marked Good Riddance (probably a statement of sentiment, not the band of the same name but who knows?). And the bands they’re set to bury? Pearl Jam, Alice In Chains, Tori Amos, Oasis, Stone Roses, Lemonheads, Stone Temple Pilots, Smashing Pumpkins, Jane’s Addiction, Bush, Pixies, Sebadoh, Hole and Red Hot Chili Peppers. Hah ha. I like some of those bands, and I still thought this was hilarious. Jon Spencer has never been anything less than brash, and cock-sure. Right on.

In bright red letters on the cover, this record claims that the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion is a “Jukebox Explosion Rockin’ Mid-90’s Punkers!” Amen to that, brother, and bring it on!

I can’t even begin to tell you how happy this record made me. This will definitely get constant rotation in my playlist.
 

Track Listing:
01 Shirt Jac
02 Son Of Sam
03 Train #3
04 Caroline
05 Naked
06 Push Some Air
07 Get With It
08 Showgirls Pts. 1 & 2
09 Ghetto Mom
10 Latch On
11 Bent
12 Curfew Blues
13 Train #1
14 Jailhouse Blues
15 Fat
16 Down Low
17 Do Ya Wanna Get It
18 Dig My Shit

Put yer words here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.