​SLCR #235: Frank Turner & The Sleeping Souls (March 5, 2016)

It’s 1:00 a.m. and I really need to sleep. I did a lot of walking today and a lot of standing this evening. But I thought about making some notes about this show so I could write my review tomorrow (or, let’s be honest, two weeks from now), and I realized I didn’t have a ton to say, so I may as well just get this over with or pass out trying.

I was thinking on the way there that I didn’t have any kind of story about this show. The Art of Time nearly snuck past me, and Black Sabbath was a last-minute decision, but this was just a show. One I booked my trip around, to be sure, with two artists I already really like, but that’s not very interesting to read about. Luckily, I’m an idiot.

Frank Turner’s Twitter said doors at 7:00, first opener at 7:30, “done by 11:30.” I appreciate the announced times so much. Old-man jokes aside, it’s not like I can’t stay out late, I just don’t want to spend hours standing around playing Puzzle Craft 2 on my phone waiting for things to get underway. I can happily do that from home, thanks. So I caught the C-Train and got to the university with plenty of time. Or so I thought. Once inside, I found the line to get through security. I walked to the end of the line… and walked… and walked some more… and yet more. This was the longest line I had ever been a part of. Comically long. Impossibly long. It was moving at a decent pace, but I still had grave concerns about my ability to make it inside for the opening acts. Finally, after about a half-hour, a security guard said “Everybody here for Nightwish?”

Gwuh?

There’s MacEwan Hall and MacEwan Ballroom, and one is upstairs and one had Nightwish, apparently. I did think that there were an awful lot of stupid outfits for a Frank Turner show.

The line upstairs was far more manageable and I only missed half of the first Mo Kenney song. I think I have now seen Kenney four times and every time I think she is great and that her stage presence has improved from the time before. This was quite a short set – only a half-hour – but still delightful. I did not think she was as delightful as this other girl did, though. She decided that we weren’t making enough noise for Kenney and decided to remedy this by her lonesome, which made Mo (and me) crack up a few times.

Mo: “I’m from Dartmouth originally, but my first apartment was in Halifax-”
Girl: “YYYYAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGGGGHHHHHHHHHHH”
Mo: “…are you from Halifax, by chance?”

She was.

The hell of it was, this girl actually seemed to get the crowd more into things. The crowd started off pretty subdued, but by the end of Mo’s set, they were reacting really well to her. There were no surprises in the setlist, apart from some personal favourites of mine presumably cut for time, but her closing cover of Bowie’s Five Years carried, of course, a little extra weight now.

There was maybe a 10-minute break before Northcote played. The lead singer introduced himself as Matt Goud and I don’t know why he didn’t name the band after himself. I knew nothing about these guys but they were really fun. Tons of energy and Goud was very charismatic. I can see these dudes on a CMJ CD with “recommended if you like: Frank Turner” under the little blurb about the band. Goud handled a few songs by himself on acoustic guitar and brought Kenney out to sing one with him as well. He also admirably defended Saskatchewan from an attempted besmirching – apparently he went to university in Regina. Anyway, these guys were good and I’d see them again and will check out whatever Apple Music has of theirs. Right now, in fact.

There was a longer break before Frank Turner and his band, the Sleeping Souls, finally took the stage for two hours of high-energy rock. His newest album is Positive Songs for Negative People and I don’t know about the negative people part, but the positive messages are always there. This is good music for the gym or to inspire you to take on the world in whatever manner you choose.

Like with Kenney, I’ve seen Turner a few times now, though I’m less familiar with all of Turner’s records (there’s a lot!). Maybe if you know all his songs, there’d be some setlist surprises you’d be really pumped for but I am not so knowledgeable in that regard. I got some old favourites and some newer stuff and lots I didn’t know and also half of Ace of Spades because why not? There was no Barbara Allen, disappointing a friend from work who wasn’t at this show anyway, but we got The Next Storm, Mittens, Josephine, The Way I Tend To Be, Eulogy, Peggy Sang The Blues, I Still Believe (with Matt Goud on harmonica), Get Better, Try This At Home… like I said, someone else could probably list 20 more songs.

Turner and the band had signed a drumhead and were going to give it to whichever side of the room was the most participatory. Our side was good at yelling and the other was good at jumping, so he decided on a tie-breaker. He called a friend out of the audience and had him crowdsurf around the entire room, touching the walls on both sides and high-fiving the sound engineer at the back – he could then return to the front and throw the drumhead to the winning side. I am proud to say I did my part and held that dude in the air for SEVERAL seconds. With lots of help. I think our side won but the drumhead arced in the air and wound up in Switzerland, the neutral zone down the middle of the room. I later saw the dude who caught the drumhead waiting for the train.

Turner is the kind of guy who has two rules for his shows – sing along if you know the words, and (more importantly) don’t be a dickhead. At one point he had us all sit on the floor (I did!) and make friends with a stranger near us (I did not!). But I sang (after a fashion) when he said to sing and jumped (sort of) when he said to jump and put my hands in the air when told to do so and I’m somewhat okay at following orders is I guess my point? Also I had fun. And I’m sleepy now.

In the interest of not being a dickhead (and because it was boring to read), I removed a lengthy complaint I’d written about a fellow fan. I’m glad you had fun. Just maybe leave your toys at home next time.

I caught the train back and walked towards my grandma’s place. The train stop is by a Humpty’s, which I noticed was still open. After a long day, the idea of midnight bacon and eggs by myself sounded both appealing and monumentally stupid. As I crossed MacLeod Trail and pondered this situation, looking at the Humpty’s, some girl crossing the other way sharply told me “If you look straight ahead, nobody’s gonna be messing with you.” I can add nothing to that except to point out that this paragraph is the most representative thing about my life that’s ever been written. When I’m dead, read this at my wake and make it the last post on my Facebook wall. It’s all that future generations will need to understand me.

 


For more Frank Turner goodness, check out Boppin’s interview! I even make a run-in at the end.

17 thoughts on “​SLCR #235: Frank Turner & The Sleeping Souls (March 5, 2016)

  1. keepsmealive says:

    Also, two seconds on the internet found a setlist. Seem accurate?

    The Next Storm
    The Road
    Losing Days
    Eulogy
    If Ever I Stray
    Try This at Home
    Peggy Sang the Blues
    Ace of Spades (Motörhead cover)
    Josephine
    Polaroid Picture
    Redemption
    One Foot Before the Other
    The Opening Act of Spring

    Frank Solo:

    The Fisher King Blues
    Worse Things Happen at Sea
    The Ballad of Me and My Friends
    Reasons Not to Be an Idiot
    Glory Hallelujah

    Full band again:

    Mittens
    Long Live the Queen
    Recovery
    Out of Breath
    Photosynthesis
    Plain Sailing Weather
    Get Better

    Encore:

    St. Christopher Is Coming Home
    The Way I Tend to Be
    I Still Believe
    Four Simple Words

    Liked by 1 person

  2. keepsmealive says:

    Haha Matt Goud band. What could go wrong?

    This sounds like a good time! Three acts = concert value.

    Excellent last paragraph, and as epitaph it’d serve you well enough, I suppose, so long as those reading know you were on your way for midnight bacon and eggs when it happened. Still, I’d say I could go you one better. Make mine: “GIVE ‘ER!” (and be sure to include the \m/ \m/ and maybe a few Wahoos!).

    I wanna hear the story about the toys.

    Like

    1. James Kalyn says:

      I just thought “somebody was pissed off at me because they thought I was staring at them but actually I was thinking about eating bacon” really sums me up, you know?

      The toy thing was just some dude who brought a stuffed animal and would wave it around and take pictures with it and stuff. Blocked my view of the stage a few times which took impressive precision as it wasn’t that big. He was much more entertained by it than the people he was with, who seemed to tire of humouring him.

      Like

      1. boppinsblog says:

        I was at a Sheepdogs concert in Guelph the night you were at Frank Turner. 3 young ladies squeezed there way past me (it was realllly packed), and stopped just in front of me. One had a wooden stick with a cardboard cut out that had a picture of her face on it (wtf), and she snapped selfie(?) pictures of it with the band in the background. OH, and thye often blocked my view, checked their bright phones and spoke in that late teen, early twenty something language where every second word is ‘like’.

        Liked by 1 person

          1. boppinsblog says:

            Just three. I’ve made a mock Titanic and we do “I’m the king of the world.” and then we….

            I mean. Really. So Leonardo DiCaprio’s face on them. Interesting.

            Like

Put yer words here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.