Evilyn Strange – Evilution

This is a collaborative post with MIKE and DEKE! Click those links to go read theirs too! You’ll learn more from them than you will from me!

Mike sent me this EP. I knew nothing about Evilyn Strange before this. Two seconds on Google taught me this is mainly the project of two men, Phillip Strange (vocals) and Mikael Johannesson (guitars), and that they have one full length album prior to this, called Mourning Phoebe.

To me, this sounds like 90s metal and grunge blended with a bit of 80s rawk, but with an updated sound. Ripping guitars, thundering drums, throbbing bass, and vocals that scream and purr just right… like Metallica’s Black album and Soundgarden’s Superunknown met Mötley Crue (and Slayer, on the blistering Storm Clouds). It’s only 5 tracks, but it plays like a complete album. That’s a tough trick to pull off!

I was gonna say the bass for the whole thing needed to be turned up, but then I realized I wasn’t using the amp through the Kenwoods, I was just on the iMac internal speaker. Haha fool! Switch it up and NOW it’s way better! Yes!

Also, I was gonna write up each track but I found I was writing the same thing for each song, which mostly involved a lot of WAHOOS! and TURN IT UP! and \m/  \m/  Suffice it to say, this EP rocks. It goes from blues metal chug to blasting thrash speedracer, and then back to lighter-waving rawk ballad with aplomb. I like how they do what they want without trapping themselves in a sound, and it all rocks! I’ll bet this would be a helluva lot of fun in a live setting, especially in a smaller venue where you can get close to the band.

Well done, Evilyn Strange! This is a very strong introduction, for me. And thanks heaps, Mike!

10 thoughts on “Evilyn Strange – Evilution

  1. deKE says:

    Thanks for the plug Dude! But you know lots as well! Don’t sell yourself short! It’s Community man…we all learn from each other! Especially for these guys(Evilyn) it’s good to get behind a band and back EM with some words! That’s why I was pushing the fact that it’s only $2.99 on iTunes! I preorderd it right away when Phillip sent me a messsage via Mike if I would review it…went straight to ITunes and click a roo!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. deKE says:

        They did! Were all over FaceCrack! Whats even funnier is that my Unablogger pic somehow is the pic of your review on there page! hahaha…i commented and said Cool Cover!
        haha

        Like

        1. keepsmealive says:

          We’re famous! I Googled it and it’s hilarious – your Unablogger pic on my post! Not sure what happened there. But it was awesome to see all three posts listed in a row, and it seems like our words were appreciated! I can’t comment on it (because I don’t have a Facebook and never will), but I wish the band well, for sure. They have a great sound.

          Liked by 1 person

Put yer words here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.