Solomon Burke – Don’t Give Up On Me

I Wanna Taranna Pt. 15: BMV #15 (3-For-$10 #7) Solomon Burke – Don’t Give Up On Me

I was shocked to see this gem in the 3-for-$10 bin. I mean, seriously! This is gold!

First off, I want to thank ANTI/Fat Possum for making this record happen. This thing was produced live in the studio by Joe Henry. And that voice… oh my, that VOICE! So soulful, so great.

I’ll just give you the list of collection of new and unreleased songs by major artists, and the guest appearances on those tracks, and where some of them appeared in popular culture, and then you can get out there and get your own copy of this album post-haste. Check it:

Don’t Give Up On Me (Penn, Whitsett, Lindsey) %
Fast Train (Van Morrison) +
Diamond In Your Mind (Tom Waits and Kathleen Brennan)
Flesh And Blood (Joe Henry)
Soul Searchin’ (Brian Wilson, Andy Paley)
Only A Dream (Van Morrison)
The Judgement (Elvis Costello, Cait O’Riordan)
Stepchild (Bob Dylan) ~
The Other Side Of The Coin (Nick Lowe)
None Of Us Are Free (Barry Mann, Cynthia Weil, Brenda Russell) ^*
Sit This One Out (Pick Purnell)

% appeared in the TV series The O.C.+ appeared on the TV series The Wire
~ f. Daniel Lanois
^ f. The Blind Boys Of Alabama
* appeared in the TV series House

Are you still here? Seriously, this is gorgeous stuff. Go get you some!

8 thoughts on “Solomon Burke – Don’t Give Up On Me

  1. J. says:

    Exceptional album, this one… and Joe Henry did quite the job (no one quite captures sound, atmosphere , or mood quite like him, in my opinion) and Burke is in very fine voice. No doubt this is the highlight of his later stuff. Joe’s Flesh and Blood has long been my favourite cut here.

    Like

    1. keepsmealive says:

      You’re spot on, J. This one’s a keeper! I’ll admit I wasn’t singling out tracks, just letting the album wash over me, so I’ll go back and give Flesh And Blood some individual attention!

      Liked by 1 person

Put yer words here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.