Let Me Stand Next To Your Fire

A weird, quasi-philosophical thought occurred to me, recently. Don’t worry, this is the norm. Welcome to my brain.

This is a longer post, written over several sessions. Grab a coffee. 

***

Preamble:

Recently, we had a 5-year reassessment of our insurance, here. Part of the conversation was about valuables in the home, protecting against theft, damage, loss. For me, the only thing of real replacement value I have here is my decent-sized music collection. Priorities.

So, the rep recommended I start a detailed list of what’s here, to be stored off-site (email) for use in the event of replacement. Now, I’ve kept a list of everything here, but it’s just a .txt file with Artist Name – Album Title. I did it that way for my phone: because I don’t have data on my cell phone, and I didn’t want to mess with a spreadsheet, a simple, alphabetical .txt file is easy to open and manipulate on my old iPhone 6s+. 

It was recommended to me, though, that the list be more detailed, so direct replacement can be possible.

Action:

Being a dilligent home owner, I’ve started a more detailed spreadsheet. It covers:

Artist, Title, Year, Label, Code, SKU, Format, and Notes (just brief things like ‘autographed,’ or ‘#123/500,’ etc). I did not include current prices, or links to Discogs, reasoning that it’ll be one at a time and the price will be what it is at the time if it comes to that anyway.

This way, if the house burns down or gets robbed, or we suffer a massive earthquake and the resulting tsunami off Georgian Bay washes out our house, or whatever the case, there’ll be a list offsite that will tell the insurance claims department what was lost. It’s a lot of work to put this all together, but I can sit here and listen to tunes as I work and, honestly, what else do I have to do with my time? Only a million things. Anyway, I have alphabetically progressed quite nicely through to ‘C,’ already, as of this writing.

The Thought Process:

As I’ve worked away on the list, I’ve begun to wonder about a disaster, such as fire, destroying the house (and we’re all safe, natch). Obviously, replacing the house and major family contents comes first. But the provision in the insurance for replacement of this collection, even if it does contain enough funds to replace a decent chunk of what’s here (I’d doubt it would cover all of it), would have to be monitored closely. I’d have to assume that the insurance would use that list and make sure I replaced exactly what was here, as close as possible, from a reputable source. 

So I wondered, would I even want to replace them all, exactly? How much of what I own has been picked up along the way, usually for cheap, and doesn’t truly need replacing? I mean, a CD like Sheryl Crow’s Tuesday Night Music Club. And all deference to Sheryl here, it’s just where I am in the list… Now, I like that album well enough for what it is, and the memories it has associated with it from my university days. But I bought it for $1. Would I replace it at full price, using up limited replacement funds? No. But that is what the insurance would expect, right? Go to Sunrise Records or Amazon and buy back what was lost, spend far more on a very common CD that I spent so little on, the likes of which would eat into whatever amount I’d started with frighteningly quickly.

Not only that, some of my old LPs would be so (comparitively) astronomically priced… old original jazz (Coltrane) and rock (Bowie) LPs… not to mention my very rare stuff, like GBV albums where they only ever printed 500 copies, so it’d be next-to impossible to cheaply replace even if you could find them at all… Or my complete collection of limited-run Sloan LP releases, costing way more now that they did at purchase… Or even personally-valuable stuff, like my autographed B.B. King boxed set from that gig in KW. Can’t replace that exactly, as B.B. passed away (may he RIP). 

Anyway, this naturally led to me thinking about how much stuff is here, in total. And not that I’m being lazy and trying to make working on the list go more quickly, but honestly. Because of where I work and how easy it is to get things cheaply, I own so much stuff I hardly ever play and, truth be told, if it was all lost to me tomorrow… well, beyond the obvious stuff that would definitely be replaced, I don’t know how much of it I could or even would replace. 

So, because my brain goes to absurd yet logical conclusions, that started me thinking about why I even have it here. To play, at some point, obviously, and why not. Life is for the living, enjoy what you have. I know this. I’ve spent years of my life researching, collecting, digging through bins and racks, always questing for the next whatever. I’ve spent years curating the collection, alphabetizing and shelving and organizing it all, not to mention moving it across three provinces, and from house to house as we’ve moved. It’s a lot of time and care for what amounts to a bunch of stuff.

But a large percentage of my collection so very rarely gets played. I’d say a lot of it has been years since its last spin, which is why my KMA series of going through everything here is good, at least they’ll get aired once again. But why am I warehousing a lot of this stuff? Whom am I impressing? Now, long-time KMA Readers may remember when I did a post a long while ago about two culls I’d done (Oct. 2017 and Oct. 2018). That got rid of a big pile of stuff, around 1700 items, and contrary to what I might have thought would happen, I actually felt better. Lighter. And I have a couple of boxes started here again, already, though because of covid I haven’t had a chance to get them anywhere I’d trust to be fair on return. And you’re thinking a cull is a bad idea, that I might want them back someday. Well, of the 1700+ items that went out in those two culls, since then I have regretted exactly one CD. And I replaced it, at minimal cost. That’s not much regret, there. 

Part of me thinks I brought all these things home (in volume) for a reason, whether it was on spec or to fill in a discography gap, or whatever the case. I like so many types of music that I can grab up a lot very quickly – Bocelli AND Black Sabbath, etc. Reading your enthusiasm for things on all your blogs makes me grab stuff to try it, too. I’m quite a magpie for bright and shiny music. 

But if it all went away tomorrow, what would I truly miss, out of everything here? Honestly, a small percentage. I like all of it, but I love far fewer than I was admitting. And this all ties into the thoughts I had when seeing my father-in-law in the nursing home before he passed away, about how little he had with him. Can’t take it with you, all that. It’s rough to think about, but true. I know, I should just enjoy it now and let my kids deal with it, but at a certain point the collection reaches an unmanageable size and I have so much I can’t possibly enjoy all of it to the point where I wonder if I’m enjoying any of it.

So I entertained the thought of using disaster as a cull mechanism, a thought experiement. What would I actually replace? It would take being honest and letting go of what isn’t essential, sure, but I could use that money toward something that wouldn’t just sit – like my 50th birthday guitar project. Now THAT would not sit and gather dust, I’d play it often, drawn to it like a moth to flame. Same can’t be said for Sheryl Crow. Sorry, Sheryl, but it’s true. And I’d have to be better, going forward, to only collect up what I know I truly want, not just everything that catches my eye or someone somewhere is a fan so I should try everything out.

In Sum (if there is an answer, here):

These are incomplete thoughts, half-formed and probably not very well-expressed. It’s all still a jumble in my head. I called it ‘weird’ because it seems to run contrary to my usual thinking, so it feels odd. Unfamiliar, anyway. Maybe being cooped up in the house for a year because of this pandemic, surrounded by all the stacks plays into this too, but it all started with the insurance review and naturally led my thoughts here. If I were truly honest with myself, how much of what’s here do I really honestly want/need? The answer is: surprisingly, relatively little of it. And when it all comes down to it (hopefully later rather than sooner): none of it. What matters instead? People, memories, experiences. 

If you got this far, thanks for Reading. Carry on, as you were.  

26 thoughts on “Let Me Stand Next To Your Fire

                    1. keepsmealive says:

                      Yup, hockey is my main (Leafs win tonight in OT!). I lived without a TV for 20 years and was just fine. Got one for the kids (watching on the laptop sucked). I started watching it a bit more. An episode with my lovely wife. A movie now and again. Making an effort, old college try.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. cincinnatibabyhead says:

                      Movie nights, odd doc and that’s it. I like the hockey (sports but selective) but dont have a team just like to see good playoffs and hard fought end to end games. We are swamped with Canucks and they are not a good team.

                      Like

                    3. cincinnatibabyhead says:

                      Van got lucky with the shortened season then rode hot goaltending as far as it took them. Same as this year . From what I have watched, outplayed most nights and Demko holds them in.

                      Like

  1. 1537 says:

    Interesting. I don’t think I’d replace any of it. I just couldn’t, I think I’d just walk away from it all, because otherwise it would consume me. All the best stuff is tied up in memories of when, where, with whom I bought it/listened to it etc, i stuff articles/ticket stubs/posters from magazines inside the covers, it’s just not replaceable. Making sure I play it all and think about it all is why I started 1537.

    I insure my collection separately, have to.

    Like

    1. keepsmealive says:

      That’s an option I hadn’t considered, just walking away. (shudders). Damn. Starting right over, from scratch? Damn. I mean, damn. And yeah, the 1537 is a great reason, I’m doing the same here now, going through one by one. I oughta be culling as I go. I tried that one other time, I think I called it Hit It Or Quit It, or some crap like that. It didn’t stick. Because of course it didn’t.

      Seperate insurance, not a bad idea. Did you have to catalogue everything for them?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. J. says:

    I have my collection (mostly) catalogued on Discogs. Obviously a record is only worth what it means to you and / or what people are getting for it. That’s usually something that’s difficult to reconcile. Worse if you have those special signed copies. There’s no replacing that. Unless the place you buy from bought it from the person who stole it.

    Also, I like how you’re looking at things when it comes to letting go. I pretty much got rid of almost every CD I have when I moved a couple of years ago. Kept about 20. Just didn’t feel the need to hold onto a lot of it cause I just wasn’t listening to them. I honestly can’t remember the last time I had put a CD on (outside of being in the car).

    I was also saying elsewhere that I sold a bunch of records. Same reasons. If I wasn’t pulling it from the shelf or wasn’t likely to, then I replaced it with something else.

    But hey, back to your thoughts… I agree. Also, if an insurance company wants to pay you top dollar for a Sheryl Crow CD, who are you to stop them!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. keepsmealive says:

      I gave up on Discogs, incredible how many things I had that weren’t listed on there by the code on the version I had. With this much stuff, like I have, an impossible task.

      I remember you getting rid of a lot of stuff (I benefitted from that, some singles of Screaming Trees, etc!) and yeah, it does just feel like warehousing after a certain point. My collector brain likes things all orderly and in volume, apparently.

      My past two culls were liberating. I could probably cull again at the same rate and not really notice. It’s crazy. And Sheryl was just an example. I have a ton of stuff I got here for cheap (I am the king of the bargain bins) and to replace them that way would take years (it took years the first time around). I probably wouldn’t even try to do it. I’d just replace the important ones and see what was left over (probably nothing). Interestig, too, going through all this stuff how much of it was bought because of the blogs, reading about this or that over the past 15 years and snapping it up when I see it. I start to wonder if I even have my own collection anymore lol.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. J. says:

        I have a few LPs that weren’t on there, but I created the listing. Also have a few variants that aren’t exact, so I picked the closest and occasionally have a look to see if that’s changed… but I know what you mean – if you have a load, it’s not very convenient to create listings or suchlike.

        And I get what you mean about sifting through stuff and realising that there’s a shift in where that stuff comes from – there’s the stuff you have memories attached to and stuff that you may or may not still enjoy, and gradually you find that there’s a chunk of stuff that you can trace back to folks on here!

        Like

        1. keepsmealive says:

          Yeah completely inconvenient, on this scale. Plus, one time when I was still trying to make a go of it, I tried entering a cassette I had that wasn’t on there. I got an email from some jerk rudely telling me I’d done it wrong and to stop mucking around on the site. No attempt to explain what they’d prefer. So yeah screw them.

          Some few have memories attached, many I could live without if I had to, and a ton from AND traced back to fellow bloggers. I thought maybe just make the insurance list of the stuff I KNOW I’d want to try to replace, but a bigger part of me still pulls towards another cull, minimize. Simplify. Get right down to what matters and shed the rest. You know?

          Liked by 1 person

          1. J. says:

            Aye, that’s not helpful – you’d think it would be easier to say “how you doin’, pal? I see you were creating an entry… here’s a couple of wee things that are handy in such situations…”. That guy is a walloper.

            And I get the pull towards a cull. I actually felt good when got rid of pretty much everything but the stuff that matters. I can’t even say that I’ve regretted shifting any of the stuff I did. I ripped the CDs to iTunes so I guess I still have access to the music whenever… and I was probably more likely to listen to that stuff on the commute or when I was sitting working on the PC anyhoo. So no great loss (but gaining space).

            Like

            1. keepsmealive says:

              Yeah, I was shocked, made to feel I was an interloper on some hallowed ground or something. Quick turn-off, for me.

              What was the true criteria for what you kept versus what went out? Was it hard and fast or did you go on a case by case basis? I think I could start of great guns and then get sucked into believing I need to keep more than I do. I might need a set of rules this time. Last two culls went quick because it was all stuff I had on spec anyway.

              Liked by 1 person

              1. J. says:

                I tried not to overthink it, cause I’d end up finding a reason to hold onto stuff. Basically I said CDs were gone by default cause I literally hadn’t listened to the majority at home since before the kids were born. I kept those that I might find difficult to pick up again and some that had been signed (though some of those were accidentally thrown out as they were placed in a box I should have taken better care of) and some that hadn’t been in the collection long.

                When it comes to LPs I try to keep it to albums I love and will spin loads. Especially given the cost of LPs now – the last few albums I’ve bought have been funded by selling others.

                Like

                1. keepsmealive says:

                  Man I’d be the same way – I can justify keeping them all, and adding a ton more!

                  Since CDs are my mainstays, I’d have a hard time moving them all on. Especially bands I love, so I could just limit it to that, bands I know I’d replace if it all got lost. I’m a bad one for liking one album and then worrying away at it til I have the discography. I know, I know. Remember, I’ve already ditched 1700+ items and it didn’t appreciably diminish what was here, in fact, I wonder where I put it all. Sigh.

                  As for LPs, a lot of mine are old originals (I refuse to pay $50 for one LP, unless it’s something really special). I don’t spin LPs as often as CDs, as a practice, so I’m less attached but still I know when I go through I’ll have a helluva time of it…

                  What it looks like is I just need to be honest and admit I have a problem LOL.

                  Liked by 1 person

Put yer words here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.