2020-03-20 – 2021-03-20

Today marks the one year anniversary of my quarantine at home with the kids. It was a year ago, today, that my boss told us all to go home, that they were projecting two weeks before we would return. Two weeks.

Things wobbled between worse, then better for months, and now, after a year, we have (somewhat) returned to normal, around here at the moment. Our area is mostly open (but that doesn’t mean come up here from places that aren’t good – stay home). My place of business is open (under modified hours and spacing rules). I am still at home, though, as our kids are committed now to being in online learning for the term, and they’re not (by law) old enough to be left at home alone. With my lovely wife still working front line in the hospital, and with my parents over 70, it fell to me to stay here. I haven’t worked in a year.

I know I’ve been lucky. Many people have lost their jobs, their homes, even their lives, through all of this. My lovely wife’s income allows us to live like we do. And here in Canada, we’re fortunate to have a government that has tried to (and did) help us as best they could, with programs built on the fly. I don’t take this position for granted at all.

An entire year of my life. If you’d asked me then how I’d feel at this point now, I’d have told you I’d be babbling, rattling around and bouncing off walls, missing the outside world and everything we used to do. I do have those moments, especially for the kids missing their friends and social interactions and sports, etc. But more often, I’ve learned, the thought of getting out there, taking back up all of the things we used to juggle, tires me. We were doing too much, as a family. The thought of walking back into the stress ball that was my work just makes me tense.

I’ve gone through the five stages, I suppose, and am now at acceptance. A lot of the stress, which I wasn’t aware I was carrying and/or compensating for, has dissipated. A lot of the physical pains that were ailing me have gone (though some remain). There has been a levelling, of sorts. I may never find actual peace in this life, but this is the closest I’ve been in a while, and all it took was quarantining against a pandemic, with a controlled environment acting as a buffer against an uncertain world.

And it isn’t over. I am here until at least the fall. The kids will finish out this online school year, then summer vacation will take us to the fall. What will happen then? Will enough people be vaccinated or will a new strain have gotten us in its grip? Will people remain responsible, or will the nicer weather make everyone relax (and screw it all up)? We don’t know. Through this I have learned a new disbelief at the thoughtless selfishness of some people out there, doing what they want despite restrictions because they are (in their minds) entitled. I understand the urge to want things “back to normal” but I do not undertand the selfish unwillingness to do what’s necessary to get everyone there once and for all.

I’ve not become a hermit, nor agoraphobic. But I’ve adjusted to this new way of life that was thrust upon us, and found a new level of comfort within it. I’ve learned things about myself. I’m not a misanthrope, but I will suffer blind foolishness less, going forward. I’ve learned that more than half of the list of things I always said I would do “if I had the time” was a lie. I’ve had nothing but time to do all of those things, and yet I’ve let a lot of it go, in favour of other things that felt more important, or just doing nothing at all. This has been an opportunity to find balance, grounded understanding, and while I am not balanced, even yet, somehow I feel closer. I’m a pretty resilient guy, and have done many things in this life and have learned through experience. But that was all outward exertion. It’s been interesting to turn inward and meet myself at this age, a couple of years away from half a century old. We ignore a lot in the swirl of day to day life. Slowing down has been a boon, I think. It has been stressful, sure, but it’s different stress. Calmer, more contained, and without so many of the defences necessary to act as buffers against the unpredictablities of other people.

This time at home has given me different drives, different perspectives. I now see that a lot of what I thought was important just isn’t. Never mind what other people would say about any of it, I see it for myself, on my terms. I’ve always had a bit of a dichotomy within me, wanting to do and see and own so many things, in constant tension against an ideal of living minimally and quietly. I blame reading Walden at a young age, ha. But that push-pull has always been there, my own energy levels (which can be high) in direct opposition to the urge to just be calm and let things be. Maybe I’m now finding a middle ground, at least.

We all know that common sense isn’t very common anymore, but that shouldn’t stop us from continuing to seek the common good. I remain here, and I’m OK with that. This isn’t defeat, this isn’t weak acceptance. But it is acknowledging that this is how things are, now, and this is my current role in it all. From the long view of it all, this year has been instructive. I know, someday, I’ll have to go back out there. But maybe I can go forward in different ways, from a stronger, better place. We’ll just have to see, if/when we get there.

27 thoughts on “2020-03-20 – 2021-03-20

  1. BuriedOnMars says:

    Congrats on one year! I haven’t stopped going in to work myself. My job cannot be done from home and I’m an “essential service” since for some reason you people all need to know what is happening every day. I have been enjoying a much quieter building and light commutes. So far, the pandemic only becomes a pain in the arse when people can’t come in as they wait for test results or are under quarantine. I do miss going to a record store.

    Like

  2. cincinnatibabyhead says:

    Enjoyed your thought Books. It has been a test for us individually and as a society. It really does effect people in different ways. My whole thing has been not to “add to the madness”. The corny “part of the solution, not the problem’ clique. Sometimes cliques are needed. I do know that I listened to a lot of really good music. All genres. Man do I like music. later fella.

    Like

          1. cincinnatibabyhead says:

            “Love those little rascals”. Cooler words were never spoken. My “rascals” still want to talk to CB and hand out once in a while. Cant complain about that. Hey and they love their tunes nd movies. Have showed the oldman the way a few times. Enjoy every second Books (I know you will)

            Like

  3. Sarca says:

    That thing that you wrote about thinking about returning back to normal stresses you out really resonates. I am working from home at present and absolutely love it. I am not commuting any more, and have gained some of my life back. I have been able to relax, and not feel so anxious. I actually got to spend time at home when before I was feeling like what’s the point in owning a house when I was never home to enjoy it. Even the work I do, I feel has improved with remote appointments. The thought of being called back to campus makes me anxious again. It could happen that all this at home will go away, and ‘back to normal’ but until then, I’m enjoying this way of life. I even don’t mind the masks and the social distancing, and will consider wearing a mask for awhile after we don’t have to.
    I recognize I am in a position of priviledge. I have no children under foot, and I have a partner. I wonder how I’d feel if the shoe was on the other foot or if I was 15 living at home.

    Like

    1. keepsmealive says:

      I totally hear you on that point, Sarca. For me, the stress comes from coworkers and the general job set up. And realizing I’m in my mid-40s and still fighting nimnods in a (basically) minimum wage part-time role and knowing I’m probably better than that. No way out of it, either, in that place. Going back would just be like I never left. Complete with “How did you enjoy your vacation” comments. It’s tiring just thinking about it.

      Absolutely I’ll be wearing a mask after things are given some sort of all-clear, because of all the asshats who will have refused to get the damn shot.

      I recognize I am also in a position of privilege, with my lovely wife still working and we can survive our mortgage and everything with the current set-up. So many people are up against it in ways I can’t even fathom. Our kids have been great through all of this, they deserve a damn medal for being such sweethearts. If anything, they’re helping me through this as much as I am helping them. The ones I worried about most were the only-children, no siblings, couldn’t play with friends, one or even both parents having to work to keep the payments met, probably being watched by grandparents full-time… Gah.

      I’m at a point now of knowing it’ll be what it’ll be, and we’ll do whatever we have to do, without question. My lovely wife and I operate as a unit and can overcome a lot together. We all would, I know. Stay strong, stay together, this too shall pass.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. 2loud2oldmusic says:

    The biggest change for us was the fact I’m working from home now. My kids are older so they are pretty self-sufficient. We were also homebodies so we didn’t go out much to begin with so not that much different. The one thing I’ve learned from this is that working in a office 5 days a week is not what I ever want to do again. This working from home thing is awesome. No wasting almost 2 hours a day in traffic, so stress levels way down. Wear & tear on the car down too.

    It sounds like you are doing the right thing on your end and your attitude is awesome. We will all come out of this better and stronger I believe as somehow we always do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. keepsmealive says:

      I’ve been hearing a lot from folks saying they’d rather work from home, that their job can be done from home so why not. And yeah, the things you mention about stress being down and no more commute, that’s all part of it too. It feels like maybe a shift could be coming for some folks, if employers can agree. My job, sadly, needs to be done in person. Otherwise, I’d consider it.

      Thanks for your comment, I try to keep it together. Better and stronger will remain to be seen, though you;re right, we usually do.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 2loud2oldmusic says:

        Luckily, I am a numbers guy and all I need is access to our data and that is easily done online and we’ve proven that there is no drop in service when working from home. We have plugged away now for a year from home with no issues whatsoever.

        Like

    1. keepsmealive says:

      6 weeks, yeah, that would’ve been better scale. All this is changing me somewhat. Tie it to the other (recent) post, and some other thoughts I have going on here as well and, well, maybe this is me becoming.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. keepsmealive says:

      Thanks Deke, you’re right. Family always first. I never felt a calling to one thing (like, I’ll be a doctor… lol saved the world there, I did!) but this isn’t the first time I’ve stayed home with the kids for an extended period, so that’s a big part of me. I don’t mind. I just had a long wind down to get to this point of how it feels, this time. Tough slog, for damn sure. Glad that damn stress is gone though, straight up. Hope you’re doing well up there in the great white north, too!

      Like

  5. 80smetalman says:

    A very heartfelt piece and I feel for you. Hopefully, this madness will be over and we can return to some form of normality. Last year, I felt a bit guilty because not only did I still go into work because the residential care industry never stops but the service user who requires 95% of our attention went home for the first three months of the lockdown, so I had it pretty easy. I felt like some sort of carpet bagger. Hopefully, this will end and you can go out and enjoy life again.

    Like

    1. keepsmealive says:

      Thank you. After all this, I don’t know how much of a return to normality I’m really after. If we are back in some form, I think I’ll handle it differently. And you’re not a carpet bagger, just doing as needs doing!

      Liked by 1 person

Put yer words here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.