Joss Stone – Mind Body & Soul

I knew of her, but not much about her when I found this CD for $2. I had vague recollections of her singing with Mick Jagger but I don’t recall why. Anyway.

These are really great, soulful tunes. They’re very uplifting, often with backing singers and all, just like the old R&B and soul records used to be. Of course, they’re all run through a modern filter, because why not!, but I came away from listening to this CD with a smile on my face, happy to have heard it. This girl can SING.

There are lots of highlights, like the tune Spoiled (loved it), the Stevie Wonder-ish bassline of You Had Me, the soulful reggae beat of Less Is More, the… well, you get the idea. There was one sample that I found distracting because for the life of me I couldn’t place it. In the song Don’t Cha Wanna Ride there’s this earworm hook line and it turns out to be from a 1968 song called Soulful Strut by the Young-Holt Limited. I’d have lost that round of Jeopardy, but I knew the melody line easily.

This was a great CD. I’d play it again tomorrow. In fact, I just might.

 

UPDATE: The reason she was singing with Mick Jagger was in the group Superheavy, which included Stone, Jagger, A. R. Rahman, Dave Stewart (Eurythmics), and Damian Marley. So now you know.

2 thoughts on “Joss Stone – Mind Body & Soul

Put yer words here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.