Richie Sambora – Stranger in This Town

This album is fully of its time. It’s in the sound, the production, everything. But this is not a detriment, in this case – it totally works. These are fully realized songs played wonderfully, and with lots of blues (even Eric Clapton plays on Mr. Bluesman) and west coast rocker soul. And, of course, the guitar work is insanely good. The whole thing has an atmosphere to it, and I got pulled right into its orbit. Now sure, there are a couple of songs that could plainly have been Bon Jovi tracks, but there’s a lot here that must surely be solely Sambora, too.

The only weird patches on this otherwise perfect record were twofold: first, the guitar solo in Ballad Of Youth was shoved way into the background. Everything else is right up front, so that was a weird choice. And secondly is the sappy last track, The Answer. I’d have left that one off the record.

No matter. I loved this album. It was exactly what I needed to hear.

6 thoughts on “Richie Sambora – Stranger in This Town

  1. mikeladano says:

    Yes indeedy sir, the track “Rosie” was written for Bon Jovi’s New Jersey. I have a bootleg of that version with Jon singing. I mentioned this in my New Jersey review — that song is NOT on the super deluxe of New Jersey. Don’t know why. Maybe so they can release a deluxe deluxe edition later, or maybe because Jon doesn’t want to give Richie any sort of attention. No idea!

    I agree with your analysis. It is of its time. I have to tackle this one soon. I have a long box edition with bonus tracks and so on!

    Like

  2. deKE says:

    Yep this one isn’t too bad but a solo album coming from a guitar player the guitars should have been cranked! Sambora is a good singer and this is a decent attempt at break in the Jovi action at the time….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. keepsmealive says:

      I didn’t notice a problem with the guitars except the solo on that one song. I thought what he did served the songs and the moods pretty damn well! I was reading further on the interwubs and JBJ put out Blaze of Glory around this time too, so I guess it was solo album time! 😉

      Like

Put yer words here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.