Beatles – Anthology 3

I’d like to give a shout-out to the Toronto Maple Leafs for winning their first game of the 2020-2021 season last night, beating Montreal 5-4 in overtime. Go Leafs!

***

Here’s the third rarities and alternative takes 2CD set in this series, companion to the TV special. This one covers from the initial sessions for The Beatles (the White Album) through to the last sessions of Let It Be and Abbey Road. 

As with the other two sets, there was to be one new Lennon song here, Now And Then, but Harrison strongly disliked the track. Instead, a George Martin instrumental called A Beginning is here (originally intended as an intro to Don’t Pass Me By on the White Album). It sounds like Disney backing music, and it’s less than a minute long. You can see the rest of the track listing and notes here.

I’ll post the same thing on all three of these in the series: I acknowledge that this is hallowed ground, but this is not for day-to-day listening, unless you’re deeply into the band, and truly invested in having every single thing they ever recorded in your collection.

Not gonna lie, this has been a lot of Beatles to get through, and while I’d thought I’d begun to lose interest in hearing all this a while ago, I’m truly getting to the end of my time with this band now. Luckily, there are only two more albums here in my collection (one I like, and one I don’t remember liking), and then I can move on.

 

16 thoughts on “Beatles – Anthology 3

                1. keepsmealive says:

                  He’s the singer in my favourite band of merry reprobates, Guided By Voices (and don’t forget the myriad side projects as well). Mind-bogglingly prolific, and the kind of hero we’ve always needed.

                  Liked by 1 person

  1. Neil says:

    Following your odyssey I am coming to the conclusion that the only essential Beatles is the Red and Blue collections along with Hey Jude collection for Rain. Of course I may change my mind at any time. Occasionally I like to hear the albums but get frustrated with the filler. Thanks for your service to listening, next bust the bubble on the Stones or Floyd.

    Like

    1. keepsmealive says:

      Even though I might not be the biggest fan, I might still argue for keeping the studio albums along with Red and Blue (and Hey Jude). I doubt I’d but any bubbles with the Stones (I’m a fan), and I don’t own all the Floyd, not even close. And at the rate I’m going, ‘R’ for Rolling Stones and ‘P’ for Pink Floyd will be reached years from now ha.

      Like

  2. BuriedOnMars says:

    Oooo… I forgot about Now and Then! I’m gonna listen to that right now!

    I watched the movie Palm Springs on amazon last night instead of knuckle heads on ice. No ragrets!

    Like

Put yer words here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.