Sebastian Bach – Angel Down

Mike and I are posting this album simultaneously. Lucky you, you can go get his superior review right here!!

I got this CD for $3 from a cut-out bin at our shite HMV. They cut the spine of the case, but not all the way through to the paper, so all I had to do was replace the case and voilà, I have a brand new copy of this CD for $3!

Angel Down takes half a minute to get past its intro, but when it hits holy hell it’s heavy. There’s no warming up here, we go straight into full shriek from the get-go! I played this record twice through and, at the risk of seeming sweeping and simple, this was brilliant. This record hits fucking hard, and Bach’s sense of what rocks is absolutely unerring. From the full-on shriek of Angel Down right through to the heavy ballad of Falling Into You, there isn’t a song here that isn’t crushingly, brain-searingly brilliant.

The ballad had to happen, and By Your Side gets out your cigarette lighter (using a cellphone is for pussies) and makes you sway back and forth. But the other 13 tracks here are built to peel paint off your walls and melt steel while they rattle your friggin’ cage.

We even get a 3-fer of duets with the one and only batshit G’n’R front man Axl Rose. Back In The Saddle is, of course, a cover the Aerosmith classic. Were they trying to make the Universe implode with throat-shredding awesomeness? I think yes! It’s a solid, heavy version. (Love Is) A Bitchslap ramps up the pace, sounding like a G’n’R song (and that’s a good thing). Stuck Inside mixes heavy with atmospheric with aplomb. I gotta say, I think Sebs came out on top in this 3-round vocal match.

In Sum:

Bloody and brilliant. Bloody brilliant.

13 thoughts on “Sebastian Bach – Angel Down

  1. deKE says:

    Cool review and yep I went to see him on this tour when he rolled thru Tbay a few years back..hahaha..yeah a review is coming for that..but I’m gonna hold off as I don’t want u to go off the deep end!
    Hahaha…
    Happy snow blowing!
    Now I gotta head over to Mikey’s site….

    Like

    1. keepsmealive says:

      Thanks Deke! I really liked how heavy this whole thing was. It just felt good, ya know?

      I’m not surprised you saw this tour… I think the Unablogger is stalking Sebs! 🙂

      The snowblower kicks all kinds of ass. I have shovelled snow every year of my life I could help. It wasn’t til I moved out that my Dad bought his own snowblower – why would he get one, he had me! And this year, this new one has already paid for itself in being awesome. We had a giant grader go by and clear the inches of snow off our street and just bury in the end of our laneway. This blower went thorough it like a great white on a pot roast. I am very very happy. In the time it would have taken me to just shovel ours, I did ours, and three neighbours’ lanes too with the blower. Yep. I’m THAT guy. 😉

      Like

  2. mikeladano says:

    “There isn’t a song here that isn’t crushingly, brain-searingly brilliant.”

    Fully agreed…”brain-searingly” is a great term for this, too! Well done sir, and good score for only $3.

    Like

        1. keepsmealive says:

          I highly recommend y’all buy as much as you can at $3 or less – paying more doesn’t make it sound better, plus when you get it for so cheap it means you can buy MORE! 😉

          Like

Put yer words here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.